Pro-Life or Pro-Choice?

I’m facing a bit of a personal moral crisis. Image result for pro life pro choice

And the biggest part of the crisis is that in this time in history, I can’t– or shouldn’t–say, write, or discuss anything that might offend someone, or limit someone’s legal rights.

Ah, that last one in particular.  That’s a thorny issue.  Shouldn’t I just accept that it’s someone’s legal right to make a choice about life?  That there is rhetoric that says it’s a woman’s choice to decide what to do with “her” body?  It’s THE LAW, after all.  As a Christian, I shouldn’t judge, right? And, because a very vocal number of people, some who identify as “feminists,” have come to terms that it is morally ok to end a life, I can’t be a dissenting voice, without offending.  I certainly wouldn’t be welcome at a Woman’s March for my views.

So usually I shut up.  I try not to make waves. I avoid the extremist views. Don’t want to be a judgmental, intolerant, hypocritical shrew.

Black lives matter.  Cops’ lives matter.  All lives matter.  Take away the guns and the crazy shooters and terrorists, lock them all up. We live in a society that decries genocides that still occur in the world: the disposal of human life that is inconvenient or unpleasant to Image result for pro life pro choiceanother group (think Holocaust; now Syria); the inhumane treatment of animals, and even those who ask us to not eat our animal friends; in a world where whales and birds and other endangered creatures lives are considered sacred (and no animals were harmed in the making of this film); in a world where we want to protect our environment from being snuffed out; where the abuse (or murder) of a days-old baby, an infant, a toddler is decried and we shout “lock those sick monsters away!”

Yet ending a life in utero, because inconvenient, is OK?  I continue marvel at how we have come to this point of regarding human life.

For me there is no mystery. No one can deny the science of how babies start; we all know the components necessary to create life.  And although test tubes and cloning and drugs have created life, the raw materials cannot be replicated in a lab, and still lie in the hands of a creator, whatever you call him/her/it.

Pure and simple, I believe that human life (all life, for that matter) begins at the moment of conception, a miraculous uniting of a sperm and an egg merging their DNA to create a new life, a human being.  It’s a human being, from the zygote, the first split in cells, to the heartbeats we saw on the sonogram of  our 7-week twins (the size of a blueberry), to a

10 weeks

distinguishable human form at 10 weeks, the baby you feel kick at 20 weeks (a point at which life can be sustained outside the womb), all the way up until birth. In Spanish, “child birth” is called “Dar la Luz.” to give light.  Our infants, from the light of their birth well into their preschool days, cannot survive without someone nurturing them, seeing to their needs and growth.  So even the argument that a fetus could not survived outside the womb seems ingenious.  And you may say, that’s what YOU believe.

 

But then let me ask,  from an entirely scientific base, what is not true about the paragraph above?  How can we debate “levels of life?”  It is, or it is not, life.

Then there is “the biblical” argument.  I’ve heard it said, “abortion is never addressed in the Bible.”  I consider that a spurious argument.  The commandment says “Thou shalt not kill.”  Jeremiah 1:5 tells us that God knows us before He forms us in the womb. Psalm 139:13-16 speaks of God’s active role in our creation and formation in the womb. Exodus 21:22-25 prescribes the same penalty—death—for someone who causes the death of a baby in the womb as for someone who commits murder. This clearly indicates that God considers a baby in the womb to be as human as a full-grown adult. For the Christian (and observant Jews; Islamic viewpoints vary but most uphold the Qur’an’s view that life as sacred and condemns killing), abortion is not a matter of a woman’s right to choose. It is a matter of the life or death of a human being made in God’s image (Genesis 1:26-279:6).

I want you to have rights, to have choices.  These would include making choices about sexual behavior in keeping with the responsibilities you can accept in your life. Sex without proper protection is like jumping from a plane without a parachute.   Most would argue abstinence is unreasonable and inconvenient.  There is birth control– really, really good forms of birth control.  Like 99.8% effective. And while I don’t advocate any of these should be free… I do believe they should be priced affordably and easy to access.  I believe that all choices to contraception, even abstinence, should be taught to young people.  Ideally, teach it in your homes to your children.

I’d just like to give you a better choice than to have a living human ripped from your body.

As for special cases: I’ve never faced an “unwanted pregnancy.”  Each of my children’s conceptions were met with utter joy.  I’ve never “technically” been raped (although date rape really should count, regardless if I was on birth control).  During a time in my life when I didn’t want to get pregnant, I made sure I took measures.  There were slight complications in my pregnancies, but as having a child with a disability would not have led to a decision to terminate, we did not do any testing.  I imagine an “unwanted pregnancy” is a very sad state of affairs.  And cases of rape, incest or risk to mother’s life (1/10th  of 1 percent)  represent under 5 percent.  No child deserves to come into this world “unwanted.”  But no child deserves purposeful death.

I wouldn’t want to “force” anyone to become a parent if they don’t want to be.  The fact is, there are thousands of parents out there seeking adoptions.  People who would love a baby you might want to throw away.  There are organizations and churches who will help you through your pregnancy with housing, support, jobs, health care, etc.  Just Google “Pregnant?  Need Help?” and dozens of options pop up.  Yes, there may be a 9-month inconvenience to you.

But it’s an inconvenience that gives life.

Will Roe v Wade (the law that made abortion legal) ever be overturned?  I seriously doubt it.  “For the time will (has) come when people will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.  They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.”March for Life

So on the 44th anniversary of that landmark decision, I have a choice.  I can choose to be politically correct and say and do nothing.  I can pray.  Or I can invest my efforts in ways to make abortion a last option.  I can give my support to the  March for Life tomorrow, but I truly need to do more than just march.

I regret if I’ve run afoul of anyone’s views on this topic.  I regret if I offended.  Some of you may unfollow me at this, and I understand.  I certainly can’t tell you what to do or believe.  Despite what I believe, you will probably have a choice over your body, even if it involves the difficult decision to end a pregnancy.  But you might want to consider another point of view.  Trust me, I’ve heard the Pro Choice view; I believe it gets very good press.  And I’ve heard Pro Life views, some very harsh and intolerant.  When we get militant about a view, we get intolerant about people, about lives.

This I know for certain.  According to God, nothing is unforgivable if you ask for forgiveness.  Of course there may be consequences, but forgiveness for bad decisions is offered.

This is a video link to a young woman who speaks on the Pro Life issue from the point of view of a survivor, whose own abortion didn’t work.  It is a strong Christian testimony, and it is long.  But it is very powerful.  I encourage you to watch.

This entry was posted in On Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pro-Life or Pro-Choice?

  1. wendypawsey says:

    Brave comments put across calmly and sensitively…great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

