From Bad Comes Good

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.  2 Corinthians 1:3-4

 

Image result for pondering writingI often question whether I have any business blogging.  What possibly could I share that is worthwhile, helpful, relevant, or even interesting to others? Especially about marriage and intimacy?

And then, God sent me a message.

“Ask the Father to show you how He wants to use your past to impact someone’s future.” 

This message came through an on-line devotional called “Rebuilding a Marriage Better than New” by Cindy Beall (through the YouVersion Bible app).  In day 7 of the devotional, I read this:

It’s likely that you’ve experienced tremendous loss in your life. It could be marriage related or not. No matter what it is or when it happened, there is an experience that God wants to turn around and use to help someone else.

According to 2 Corinthians 1:3-4, we are to take the comfort we’ve received from God and use that same comfort to comfort someone else. Because we’ve been there. We’ve lived it. We’ve healed from it and through it. And not only have you lived through it and found divine healing from God, you’ve come out on the other side of it and actually have life again.

God wastes nothing. God works in it all and through it all for His glory. It doesn’t say in Romans 8:28 that God sits around and waits for things to happen. It says He works. And He doesn’t just work in some things, He works in all things.

(Note from ASW: this is one of my favorite verses, so I’ll provide it here:  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”)

When you minister to someone from a place where great pain once resided, a new level of healing occurs in your own life. When we help someone through something that we were helped through, we remind ourselves: “Hey, what you went through wasn’t in vain. What you barely lived through is actually now hope for someone else. What nearly killed you will actually bring hope to someone else one day.” It’s a spiritual pay-it-forward concept that not only helps others but also redeems our own pain.

Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine my husband and I would be where we are today. Someday you will be the one to another’s hand when they’ve learned that their life is changed forever by an affair, a trial, an obstacle. You will be the one to offer hope to that person because you are still here, still standing, and still living. That is key. People in pain want to know how they will survive it, how they will live again. And while your actions to help them are needed, simply standing by their side is enough. The gift of your presence will do them wonders. More than you know.

Food for thought: Make a list of experiences from your life. Ask the Father to show you how He wants to use your past to impact someone’s future.

To order Cindy’s book, Rebuilding A Marriage Better Than New, go to bit.ly/cindybeall.

God has taken me through many painful hardships in my marriage (and I will be clear, none led to infidelity or an affair–“affairs of the heart” notwithstanding, thank God).  I was very close to walking away from it, and making one of the greatest mistakes of my life.  A miracle happened, and my marriage has been renewed.  Part of it had to do with the mindset of becoming A Submitted Wife.  Not perfected, but intentionally 1 Corinthians 13. AKA, LOVE Is…

Now, I am “qualified” to write on a number of topics, and actually have 3 other blogs running (but not always active) on these other areas of expertise.

Image result for pondering writingSo, I will continue to write.  Sometimes what I say will be relevant to others, and sometimes it will not.  I got very prideful when blogging anonymously to end up with hundreds of followers, many comments, and sometimes 2,000 daily views.  I was graphically revealing a lot of truths about my struggles, but there was a point in time when I realized that by hiding behind a cloak of anonymity, I was giving myself license to not always glorify God in sharing my experiences.  Although I have had a life worthy of the most captivating and scandalous fiction novels, I wasn’t presenting it in a way that I was always proud of, and in a way that would be a stumbling block for some.

Now, with less salacious material, and “just” 25 followers (thank you!) and not many more daily views, I feel content that God has planted me exactly where I need to be!Image result for pondering writing

I will say one thing– that hearing from my readers helps me to stay motivated to write. I’m working on getting my motivation from God, but I’m convinced He sends Angel emissaries to assist in that task! When I shut down my previous blog, I had dozens of communications from people who had remained “silent lurkers,” but were sad the blog would be going away, claiming it had been helpful to them.  I thank all of you who share your wisdom, experiences, stories, struggles and “aha” moments in response to what I write! It’s OK if you don’t want to “be the real you” (i.e., create a pseudonym) or even that commenting links back to your own secret blog.

We are all on a journey, and we all have experiences that God wants to turn around and use to help someone else.

Thanks for reading and following.  If you want to be notified of my posts, just click on the upper right!  Look forward to hearing from you!

This entry was posted in On Being Imperfect Me, On Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to From Bad Comes Good

  1. toraprincess says:

    Thank you for continuing to write and thank you for the assurance that my commenting is ok. I had wondered about that.

    Like

  2. C for now says:

    Did Jesus only address large crowds?

    I do understand the desire for feedback. My posted questions are earnest and the (sometimes) ensuing silence grates. Continue with your calling and things will reveal themselves in good time.

    Like

    • Touché on the “crowds” comment. Our world definitely has seduced us into believing big numbers are a mark of significance and success. My most amazing Christian friend who I admire for her humble and sincere heart, still succumbs to worrying about her significance and success in winning people for Jesus. And I dutifully remind her that this privilege may never be hers, but her efforts are nonetheless part of a bigger story whose ending is what someone else gets to witness.

      Do not for a moment mistake occasional delays in responding to mean I don’t greatly appreciate your input, wisdom, and comments. They’ve always been a great comfort. I’ve struggled on a number of fronts since launching this new blog: sense of purpose, SJ’s buy-in/approval, a big change in my life, and a disease that doesn’t have the courtesy of announcing its flare ups until moments before. That said, I owe all readers a prompt acknowledgement and I apologize for not being better at that. Thank you for remaining faithful!

      Like

      • C for now says:

        It would be arrogance for any of us to presume to know the intended result of our calling. Our task is answer and leave the final result to him. An egg is an egg, it doesn’t need to determine if you’re making eggs or a cake. It’s only job is to be an egg.

        You’re always welcome ma’am.

        Like

  3. Marie Olah says:

    Yes, you’re needed. God wants you right where he put you! I so needed this this morning. Thank you. God is working through you. Love your blog and look forward to the emails.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. a. says:

    a too quick note to thank you for your blog. I am always touched by what you have to say, though I am not very good lately at affirmation. Please keep writing, please keep encouraging! We are planting and watering, though not always harvesting. It is (to me) one of the most frustrating aspects of ministry. And make no mistake, you are ministering.

    Like

    • Thank you! Although affirmation is always nice, I’m mostly wanting to know if I’m relevant, and that’s something I need to look more to God for than anyone else. I don’t think I’ll ever leave the mode of self-questioning and hearing from others is usually a refining and sharpening experience! I do enjoy hearing from people, whether it’s to share like experiences, or to just ask the questions. I mostly want to be a blessing to others. Thanks for being a part of this dialogue, here’s hoping everyone will spread the word there a safe place to have these discussions!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

